The island

Helen of the West Indies

On the eastern part of the Caribbean, Saint Lucia is one of the Windward Islands. It is located between Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 20 miles southward and Martinique 25 miles northward. Barbados is 110 miles in the South East. Due to its central and strategic position French and British have fought during centuries to control the island. Saint Lucia ownership has shifted 14 times during the colonial period (hence its nickname “Helen of the West Indies), eventually UK gained full control in 1814.
Saint Lucia is an independent state of the Commonwealth since 22 February 1979 and a full participating member of the Caribbean Community, Organization of Eastern Caribbean states and La Francophonie.
The population is around 170000. English is the official language, however Creole is widely spoken. Saint Lucians are renowned for their kindness and hospitality.